In this article we will discuss:
Marijuana growing in Oregon has been legal for quite some time, but the November 2014 election just made it a whole lot easier.
Beginning July 2015, all residents of Oregon, (including the major city of Portland) will be able to legally grow up to 4 marijuana plants in their home for recreational use. Here at ILGM, we can’t think of any better recreation than marijuana growing.
Oregon Growing Laws
Growing weed in Oregon has been legal since July 2015. If you are at least 21 years old and want to grow marijuana for any reason, you can. No medical permission needed. It’s an Oregonian right.
Just keep a few rules in mind:
- Grow in your own home
- Grow up to four plants per household
- The law doesn’t protect you from your landlord or the feds
- Concentrates cannot be made at home
Growing Marijuana in Oregon
Even though Oregon is quite lenient about growing your own weed, the few rules are pretty simple. Here they are explained:
- Grow at your residence. In Oregon, you can legally grow inside or outside your home- as long as it is on your property. Cities can ban recreational marijuana, but it does not apply to what you do in your own home. As long as you grow and consume your weed at home, and are at least 21 years old, you have not broken city laws.
- Four plant maximum. Any Oregon household can have up to four plants. A household is defined as any place where people live – including an apartment. It does not matter how many adults live in the household.
While Oregon is very clear on the number of plants, it is not clear about the age of home growers or the age of the plant. Can a 20-year-old roommate legally help grow the plants?
Do four plants mean four immature plants, or do they only consider mature plants? Retail growers know the answers to these questions; however, no guidelines currently exist for home growers.
- Landlords and the Feds. Although Oregon lets every adult grow marijuana where they live, this does not mean their landlord will. Landlords can evict tenants who grow marijuana if they do not allow it. To be safe, check your lease before you grow.
Federal laws prohibit growing marijuana 1000 feet from a school. Oregon’s law does not override it. Although you can plant marijuana outdoors, you should make sure you are at least 1000 feet from a school first. If not, you may want to grow indoors.
- No home concentrates. Making hash oil can be dangerous and most people will not try it. However, when you have a whole bunch or fresh marijuana, it can be tempting. Making concentrates at home is illegal.
Oregon is one of the easiest places to grow marijuana. Just don’t go overboard and you should be okay.
Oregon Growing Etiquette
Since it is legal for every Oregon adult to grow marijuana, you’ll probably worry more about your neighbors than the cops. A little courtesy goes a long way in keeping your hobby from becoming anyone else’s problem.
These Oregon growing tips will help keep you out of trouble:
- Be discrete about your grow – the feds may be watching
- Don’t grow more than the limit – it’s more trouble than it’s worth
- Do not blow up your landlord’s house making hash oil
Need to know more about growing weed in Oregon? Post your questions below. We will update the page with new information to your frequently asked questions.
Growing marijuana in Oregon before July 2015
Oregon has had a medical marijuana program since 1998. Under this program, indoor marijuana growing in Oregon was permitted for up to 6 mature plants. The program even allows patients to have up to 18 seedlings at a time.
It was created to treat symptoms from Alzheimer’s disease, Cachexia, Cancer, Chronic pain, Epilepsy, Glaucoma, HIV or AIDS, Multiple Sclerosis and Nausea. Participants only need a medical card from the Department of Health and a signature from a doctor stating they need to use it.
Since the new law doesn’t go into effect until July, those looking to grow before then need to be in the medical program. This means you need either a signature from a doctor or be working with a medical marijuana patient that would like to have their marijuana grown for them.
Patients who provide their growsite address are licensed to grow. Growers who are not patients simply need to register their grow site with Department of Health and pay a $50 registration fee. Registration can be done online at this link.
What’s going to change
When July makes marijuana growing in Oregon completely legal, it may change a few things for those currently growing. First of all, based on what we know so far, recreational growers will not be required to register their grow site like medical growers currently do. They also will not have to grow for a specific person or show a grower’s card.
Recreational marijuana growers enjoy the freedom of growing in complete anonymity, and in fact, that is exactly what the State of Oregon hopes growers will do. They don’t want to know! They have already stated that when recreational growing becomes legalized, grow sites must be kept private. Sounds fair to me. If you need any help creating a grow site that is contained and private, download my Grow Bible for some tips!
Recreational growing will be a huge win, but there are some disadvantages to it. Mainly, it’s because of the amount of plants. Recreational growers can only grow 4 plants while medical growers can grow 6. It might be worth it to register with the medical program, or make those plants count and invest in some good equipment and nutrients.
Help with growing in Oregon
While marijuana growing in Oregon may soon be available to everyone 21 and up, don’t expect the state to have any information on purchasing supplies. In fact, the Department of Health has already addressed that question:
We are “not a resource for the growing process and do not have information to give to patients.”
Good thing you found us, huh? If you haven’t already bought your marijuana seeds, now is a good time to get started. And make sure to download my free grow bible at this link.
View other states
Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | Washington DC | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming