Page content

Marijuana Laws in Maine

Marijuana Laws in Maine

The Marijuana Legalization Act, also known as Question 1, legalizes cannabis in the State of Maine. This law allows adults to legally grow and possess marijuana, even if they’re not participants in the state’s medical marijuana program. It also permits the retail sales of cannabis through state-licensed dispensaries and commercial marijuana production. On-site consumption is also allowed under Question 1.

Possessing Marijuana in Maine

Adults may legally possess marijuana and cannabis extracts in Maine. However, there are limits to the amount one may possess at one time, which are as follows:

  • No more than 2 ½ ounces in plant form
  • No more than 2 ½ ounces of plant form and concentrate combined
  • No more than 5 grams of cannabis concentrates

Maine’s medical marijuana law allows adults to legally possess usable amounts of cannabis, as long as they have a proof of a physician’s recommendation. All other marijuana quantities are illegal. These possession crimes are punishable as follows:

  • Between 2 ½ to 8 ounces = Fine up to $1,000 and up to 6 months in jail
  • Between 8 to 16 ounces = Fine up to $2,000 and up to 1 year in jail
  • Between 1 to 20 pounds = Fine up to $5,000 and up to 5 years in prison
  • Over 20 pounds = Fine up to $20,000 and up to 10 years in prison

Hash & Concentrates

In the State of Maine, cannabis concentrates and hashish are defined separately from the plant form of marijuana. Both are defined as resin extracted from the plant. The Marijuana Legalization Act allows adults to legally possess up to 5 grams of concentrate at one time.

Possessing_Marijuana_001

Possessing Marijuana - Image powered by Mic.com

The state does impose penalties for trafficking concentrates, which are as follows:

  • Any amount = Fine up to $5,000 and 5 years in prison
  • Using minor for trafficking = Fine up to $20,000 and 10 years in prison
  • Any amount with similar prior drug conviction = Fine up to $20,000 and 10 years in prison
  • Firearm use or possession while trafficking = Fine up to $20,000 and 10 years in prison
  • Within 1,000 feet of designated safe zone such as school = Fine up to $20,000 and 10 years in prison
  • Furnishing to minor = Fine up to $5,000 and 5 years in prison
  • Furnishing any amount with similar prior drug conviction = Fine up to $5,000 and 5 years in prison
  • Firearm used or possessed while furnishing = Fine up to $5,000 and 5 years in prison
  • Furnishing within 1,000 feet of school, designated safe zone or on school bus = Fine up to $5,000 and 5 years in prison
  • Furnishing, possessing or importing any amount = Fine up to $2,000 and 1 year in prison
  • Using motor vehicle for trafficking = Loss of driver’s license for up to 5 years

Paraphernalia

In the State of Maine, adults are allowed to possess cannabis paraphernalia.

Medical Marijuana

Maine’s Question 1 allows those in the state’s medical marijuana program to possess up to 2 ½ ounces of cannabis at any given time.

Selling Marijuana in Maine

All marijuana sales and distribution in Maine must be done through a state-licensed dispensary. Anyone else who sells or distributes cannabis in this state is guilty of a crime, which is punishable as follows:

Selling_Marijuana

Selling Marijuana - Image powered by Edition.cnn.com

  • Under 1 pound = Fine up to $2,000 and up to 1 year in prison
  • Between 1 to 20 pounds = Fine up to $5,000 and up to 5 years in prison
  • More than 20 pounds = Fine up to $20,000 and up to 10 years in prison
  • Sale or distribute within 1,000 feet of school bus or school or to a minor = Fine of $5,000 and up to 5 years in prison

Paraphernalia

  • Selling paraphernalia to someone over 16 years old = Fine up to $2,000 and up to 1 year in prison
  • Selling paraphernalia to someone under 16 years old = Fine up to $2,000 and up to 1 year in prison

Growing and Manufacturing Marijuana in Maine

Maine’s Marijuana Legalization Act makes it legal for adults to cultivate up only a certain amount of cannabis as follows:

  • No more than 6 flowering plants
  • No more than 12 immature plants
  • Unlimited amounts of seedlings
Growing_and_Manufacturing_Marijuana_001

Growing and Manufacturing Marijuana - Image powered by Marijuana.heraldtribune.com

The law states that adults in Maine may keep possession of all of the cannabis produced by their cultivated plants. However, there are limits to the number of plants one may legally cultivate:

  • Between 6 to 99 plants = Fine up to $2,000 and up to 1 year in prison
  • Between 100 to 499 plants = Fine up to $5,000 and up to 5 years in prison
  • More than 500 plants = Fine up to $20,000 and up to 10 years in prison

Medical Marijuana

The medical cannabis home cultivation laws are the same as above in the State of Maine. Those in the medical marijuana program may grow no more than 6 mature plants at a time.

Using Marijuana in Maine

Adults in Maine may consume cannabis on private property or inside a private residence. The state also allows for on-site consumption of marijuana products within state-licensed dispensaries or other facilities licensed for this activity. Anyone caught using cannabis, hashish or concentrates in public is subject to a $100 fine.

Effective February 1, 2018, adults in Maine will be allowed to possess edible marijuana products. This includes adults who do not participate in the state’s medical marijuana program.

Maine also allows qualifying patients that are visiting the state to possess, cultivate and use medical cannabis for 30 days after entering the state. They must possess a valid registration card from their own state.

Qualifying Conditions

Using_Marijuana

Using Marijuana - Image powered by Criminaldefenselawyer.com

Qualifying patients participating in the medical cannabis program must obtain a recommendation from a physician. They must also suffer from one or more of the following qualifying conditions:

  • Cachexia or wasting syndrome
  • Epilepsy
  • Huntington's disease
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Nail-patella syndrome
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
  • Cancer
  • Crohn's disease
  • Glaucoma
  • HIV or AIDS
  • Inflammatory bowel disease
  • Nausea
  • Parkinson's disease

Breaking the Marijuana Laws in Maine

Breaking_Marijuana_Law

Breaking Marijuana Law - Image powered by Marijuanastocks.com

If a vehicle is used during an aggravated trafficking offense, the defendant’s driver’s license will be restricted. An offense is labeled aggravated trafficking when the offender has a prior drug conviction in Maine, another state (at least 1 pound), or it involves a minor or a firearm. The same rules apply for aggravated furnishing of marijuana in any amount.

Download the Ultimate Grow Guide for FREE!
Learn the basics of growing marijuana and get started today
  • How to get the biggest yields from cannabis plants
  • What you need to get started, without wasting money
  • The most common mistakes you do not have to make
We guarantee 100% privacy.

Comment Section

One thought on “Marijuana Laws in Maine


By Darrel on 3 July 2017

What amount will out of state customers be able to purchase once the stores are up and running?

Leave a Reply


*