Please note: ILGM is NOT a legal adviser. Information contained in this website is intended as general introductory information only. The information contained on this website is not legal advice. It should not be construed as legal advice and should not be relied upon as such.
For the most part, the heartland of America has been a challenge for those wanting to legalize marijuana. Nebraska, however, has been a shining beacon of hope. The quiet state, known for its treeless prairies and cattle industry, is the only Great Plains state to decriminalize marijuana.
Nebraska is in the middle of America, but it is also in the middle of a variety of marijuana laws. On its southwest border is Colorado, the first state to legalize marijuana, while Kansas, South Dakota, and Wyoming – all with strict marijuana laws – fill its north, south and west border. Only Iowa, on its eastern border, has a somewhat similar marijuana program – medical CBD with rehab for personal users.
Nebraska does not have specific rules on growing marijuana; instead cultivation falls under sale and manufacture rules. Possession of less than one ounce is an infraction with a $300 fine. If it happens a second time, the charge increases to five days in jail and a $500 fine. If you get caught a third time you probably should reconsider your methods, but you’d still only face a week in jail as long as it is under an ounce.
For marijuana growing in Nebraska, it is likely you won’t get off quite so easily because it now counts under the same rules as sale or manufacture, which are highly strict. If caught with any amount of marijuana plants, you could end up with a felony 1-20 years in jail, and a $25,000 fine. The mandatory minimum sentence for sale or manufacture is one year in jail. If you somehow manage to do it again and get caught again, you will get a mandatory minimum sentence of 3 years – and as high as a life sentence. Nebraska seriously isn’t messing around when it comes to growing or selling marijuana.
Nebraska growing tips
The amount of trouble you could get into for marijuana growing in Nebraska used to be directly based on the amount of marijuana you grow, but now it all falls under the same category. Nonetheless, it’s a good idea to grow only what you need. The less marijuana you grow, the less likely it is you would get the maximum jail sentence if caught.
Another, likely obvious, tip is don’t get caught. For some people that is easier said than done. If you want to learn how to grow the best weed-without getting caught- download and read the Marijuana Grow Bible. It is a free eBook that gives all the information anyone needs for marijuana growing in Nebraska.
Nebraska is no longer prioritizing the prosecution of small marijuana offenses, but they still have quite a few restrictive laws. For example, possessing any paraphernalia is a $100 fine if it’s your first offense. If it’s your second offense or you are selling paraphernalia, you could get a misdemeanor, 6 months in jail, and a $1000 fine.
There is also a frightening skull and crossbones tax stamp that is required if caught possessing 6 ounces or more. It costs $100 per ounce! Not paying doubles the fine and is an automatic felony. If the price and graphic don’t scare you out of using marijuana, they added the letters RIP to the stamp. Apparently people in Nebraska believe you can die from marijuana.
Marijuana legislation can be complicated, but Jenny Bloom is always up for the task. Although not a lawyer, her experience as a reporter and PR specialist helps her understand legalese – especially when it relates to growing marijuana. A passionate supporter of legalization and home... [read more]