Please note: ILGM is NOT a legal adviser. Information contained in this website is intended as general introductory information only. The information contained on this website is not legal advice. It should not be construed as legal advice and should not be relied upon as such.
The people have spoken. They want to grow weed in New Hampshire, and they want to use it recreationally. A poll by the University of New Hampshire (PDF) in October 2014 showed that 59 percent of New Hampshire adults support legalization of marijuana for recreational use. Actions speak louder than words, though and in 2017, Governor Sununu decriminalized possession of marijuana up to 3/4 of an ounce, taking a small step toward legalization. Meanwhile, there is a medical marijuana program, so patients can get the care they need.
Download our free Grow Bible for more information on growing in New Hampshire or anywhere else in the world!
New Hampshire passed a medical marijuana bill in 2013, and the program is now active. The program has come a long way from its earlier, shorter list of diseases and ailments covered. Nowadays their program currently applies to patients suffering from a list of ailments.
Below are the medical conditions covered:
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Chemotherapy-induced anorexia
- Chronic pain
- Chronic pancreatitis
- Crohn’s disease
- Ehlers-Danlos syndrome
- Elevated intraocular pressure
- Hepatitis C
- Moderate to severe vomiting
- Multiple sclerosis
- Muscular dystrophy
- Parkinson’s disease
- Persistent muscle spasms
- Severe pain
- Spinal cord injury
- Traumatic brain injury
- Wasting syndrome
The state has licensed four dispensaries so far for permit holders. Legalized medical marijuana also usually indicates more tolerance towards marijuana in general, at least from the state government. So far, the program isn’t going to let their patients grow weed in New Hampshire, instead, forcing them to purchase expensive state-licensed marijuana from dispensaries. Patients can have up to two ounces at a time.
New Hampshire Laws
Marijuana has been decriminalized in New Hampshire, which mainly means that possessing small amounts of weed is now a civil violation rather than something more severe. You can have up to ¾ oz in your possession and all you’ll get is a $100 fine. If it happens more than twice, however, suddenly it becomes a misdemeanor and jail time is a possibility.
State law in New Hampshire essentially lumps growing and cultivating marijuana into the same category as possession of marijuana. The penalties are determined by the total weight of any plants found.
Simple possession of any amount is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 1 year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $2,000, but if the court finds that there is ‘intent to sell’, the penalties rise drastically. Possession of less than 1 oz with intent to sell is a felony that can lead to up to 3 years in prison and a $25,000 fine.
Additionally, any device or equipment used to manufacture or refine marijuana is considered drug paraphernalia, so you have to be careful about what you grow with also.
Know if cannabis commercial growing in New Hampshire has been legalized and updates on the current state licensing requirements.
Growing in New Hampshire
Since they don’t allow home growing for patients and it considers those who grow weed in New Hampshire as criminals guilty of misdemeanors, it is important to keep your grow garden as private as possible. You don’t want to get caught, especially not because you told a friend about your magic marijuana seeds. Instead, learn some tips from my Marijuana Grow Bible, an authority on growing discretely, no matter the situation. I’m giving it away free on my website; you simply have to download it. Then, you will have what you need to start growing like a pro- even in New Hampshire.
In summary, there are very stiff penalties for growing and selling marijuana, so you don’t want to get caught growing weed in New Hampshire. So, download my Grow Bible, and learn how to do it right. If you are a patient, make sure you have all appropriate documentation and medical licensing and never keep more than you need. You can grow weed in New Hampshire- you just have to know what you are doing.
It is important to keep your marijuana grow garden as private as possible. Get started by buying high-quality seeds in our seed bank.
FAQs About Cannabis Growing in New Hampshire
New Hampshire has not legalized growing marijuana yet and individuals who grow weed in New Hampshire are considered criminals guilty of misdemeanors. Hence, if you choose to grow cannabis, you’ll have to keep it discreet.
The possession of any amount is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 1-year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $2,000, but if the court finds that there is ‘intent to sell’, the penalties rise drastically. Possession of less than 1 oz with intent to sell is a felony that can lead to up to 3 years in prison and a $25,000 fine.
What’s your experience with marijuana where you live? Please share with us in the comments.
It’s just a plant, after all …
Marijuana legislation can be complicated, but Jenny Bloom is always up for the task. Although not a lawyer, her experience as a reporter and PR specialist helps her understand legalese – especially when it relates to growing marijuana. A passionate supporter of legalization and home... [read more]