Oklahoma has made some big changes in their marijuana laws the last few years. It’s now easier to access if you have a medical need, and the laws are less aggressive toward the casual user. While recreational marijuana is still illegal in this state, the new laws make Oklahoma a lot more weed-friendly.
Please note: ILGM is NOT a legal adviser. Information contained in this website is intended as general introductory information only. The information contained on this website is not legal advice. It should not be construed as legal advice and should not be relied upon as such.
For the most benefits, you’ll need to be a patient. Medical users can grow their own cannabis and consume a variety of forms of the herb. If you aren’t already a registered patient in Oklahoma, now is the time to consider getting a recommendation.
Oklahoma Marijuana Laws
Oklahoma legalized medical marijuana the summer of 2018. This caused big changes in a state that previously had some strict marijuana laws. Since 2017, the state has relaxed some of their laws. Now, possession is a mere misdemeanor with up to a year incarceration and a maximum fine of $1000.
What’s not a misdemeanor is selling marijuana or creating concentrates. Being convicted of these things could lead to anywhere from two years to life in prison.
Keep in mind, Oklahoma still has mandatory minimums. This means certain conditions have non-negotiable jail time. Plus, any conviction, either a misdemeanor or felony, could cause your driver’s license to be suspended for up to three years.
Interesting fact; marijuana is not legal in Jamaica! Learn how rastafarians get to appreciate ganja in our free ebook.
If you intend to stay legal in Oklahoma, you need to have a recommendation from a doctor. There are no specific qualifying conditions, but you’ll need to register with the state. Patients can possess up to eight ounces of marijuana, one ounce of concentrated marijuana and up to 72 ounces of edibles in their residence. Outside of the home, the limited is 3 ounces of marijuana at a time.
Fines and taxes
As a medical marijuana state, Oklahoma has different rules for those with a medical need for marijuana than those who use marijuana recreationally. Those in possession of marijuana without a state-issued medical license, could face misdemeanor charges. If you have less than 1.5 ounces of flower, you’ll only pay a fine.
Download my free marijuana grow guide and start growing weed in Oklahoma
However, if you have any amount greater than that (or anything other than flower), it is a lot worse. You could face jail time and potentially have to pay a marijuana tax. You could also lose your property, as Oklahoma allows forfeiture for marijuana convictions.
Growing Marijuana in Oklahoma
If you are a registered patient, it is legal to grow weed in Oklahoma. Best of all, although the program is relatively new, you wouldn’t be alone. As of 2019, Oklahoma has more than 140,000 registered patients. Plus, caregivers can supply marijuana for homebound patients.
Medical marijuana users in Oklahoma can grow up to six mature plants (flowering). They can also possess up to six seedlings (vegetative). Currently, there are no other requirements as to how and where the marijuana is grown.
Growing marijuana in Oklahoma without a medical recommendation, on the other hand, is a felony. If you decide to go this route, you definitely do not want to get caught as prison time starts at 20 years. However, you could face a potentially lesser charge if you grow small amounts on your own land. For more on stealth growing, download and read the Marijuana Grow Bible.
Faq about growing marijuana in Oklahoma
In the last few years Oklahoma has made a lot of changes in their marijuana laws. It’s now easier to access if you have a medical need, but recreational marijuana is still illegal in this state
Oklahoma allows home cultivation – as long as you have the recommendation of a physician.
Yes, it is a felony. If you plan to grow marijuana in Oklahoma, be sure to get a recommendation, otherwise you may risk a felony with a mandatory minimum of 20 years in jail and a maximum of $25,000 in fines.
View other states
Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan| Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York |North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington| Washington DC | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming
Marijuana legislation can be complicated, but Jenny Bloom is always up for the task. Although not a lawyer, her experience as a reporter and PR specialist helps her understand legalese – especially when it relates to growing marijuana. A passionate supporter of legalization and home... [read more]