- 0 Comments
How to Start a Marijuana Delivery Service in Connecticut:
The application period for opening a medical marijuana business in Connecticut is currently closed; however, the state has quite a long history with the legalization movement. The first bill regarding the use of medical cannabis was signed in May 2012 and was lobbied by very few patients. Back then, only a handful of registered physicians were allowed to handle and distribute marijuana and its byproducts.
Five years later, there are nine dispensaries in the state, which accommodate a much larger pool of registered patients. A bill that includes provisions for recreational use is already in the cards and profits for marijuana entrepreneurs seem more lucrative than ever.
At the moment, new applications are not being accepted because new licenses are not being awarded. The program is expected to expand and grow, however, which means that sometime in the near future the program should open up to new applications. It is important to inform yourself of how to start a medical marijuana delivery business in Connecticut for when that time comes.
When was cannabis made legal
In May of 2012, the initial Act Concerning the Palliative Use of Marijuana was made a law. It allowed only pharmacists (who are officially licensed) to be allowed to operate medical marijuana dispensaries. They would require training on how to properly handle controlled substances and also receive training on drug interaction-based patient counseling.
In April of 2014, the first dispensary licenses were given out. In 2014, 2,000 patients were registered for medical marijuana eligibility. Just six applicants for dispensaries were chosen, although the original plan was to choose only five. 16 people applied for marijuana cultivation licenses, and four were awarded.
September of 2015 was when the second phase of applications ended. The number of registered patients had already doubled, and by January 2016 (when the license awardees were announced) the original number of registered patients had quadrupled.
How many delivery services are there in the state
Currently, there are nine marijuana businesses in the state, monitored by the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection, Medical Marijuana Program. Minors were allowed to participate in the medical marijuana program starting in May of 2016. They are not allowed to smoke or inhale via vaporizing.
The field of cannabis research is now being delved into, and applications began being accepted in October 2016. Medical marijuana research programs may also be applied for.
How much money is there in the Connecticut marijuana industry
The sales of medical marijuana were at nearly $30 million in the year 2016. This is expected to keep rising. Estimates say that, by 2021, medical marijuana sales will likely be around $105,000,000. If adult-use (recreational use) is legalized, that will bring in another $60 million by 2021.
License & Financial requirements
No licenses are currently available, but the hope is that the application window will open once again sometime soon. This is especially likely as the medical marijuana program in Connecticut continues to grow, and as the possibility of recreational marijuana looms just over the horizon.
Although no licenses are currently available, the dispensary (and the delivery services that may go with them) application fees for existing dispensaries so far have been:
- $1000: initial application fee for Dispensary Facility License
- $100: individual initial application fee for Dispensary License
- $100: initial application fee for Dispensary Facility Backer
- $50: initial application fee for Dispensary Facility Employee
- $50: initial application fee for Dispensary Facility Technician
- $5,000: license registration fee for Dispensary Facility
- $5,000: license renewal fee for Dispensary Facility
- $100: individual annual renewal registration fee for Dispensary License
- $100: annual registration renewal fee for Dispensary Facility Backer
- $50: annual registration renewal fee for Dispensary Facility Employee
- $50: annual registration renewal fee for Dispensary Facility Technician
How much does a Connecticut marijuana delivery service?
The amount of time that it takes to start a marijuana business can vary. You will need to allow time for securing the necessary finances, acquiring the necessary licenses, and staffing your business. At a minimum, this can take a year or more.
Links to consulting companies that can help open a Connecticut marijuana delivery service
Looking to start a marijuana delivery business in Connecticut? The consulting companies listed below provide a wide range of services from helping with state licensing requirements and applications to running and stocking your business.
- Canna Advisors
- Medicine Man Technologies
- Green Rush Consulting
- Quantum 9 Inc.
- Comprehensive Cannabis Consulting
Marijuana stays in the news, and Alice is always ready to keep us updated. A world traveler and lover of freedom, Alice knows what is going on, no matter where she roams. She specializes in marijuana legalization stories across the globe, with up to date... [read more]