Can you grow weed in Utah? If the answer is yes, then you’ll have to be a little creative. This is because Utah has some of the strictest marijuana law in the West. What can you expect from the state that hesitated when given the chance to join the United States, and still has a proud history of being unique?
Please note: ILGM is NOT a legal adviser. Information contained in this website is intended as general introductory information only. The information contained on this website is not legal advice. It should not be construed as legal advice and should not be relied upon as such.
This state isn’t likely to follow the trends of its neighbors. In fact, Utah seems determined to stand apart, although it did recently legalize medical marijuana. However, you still cannot smoke marijuana in this state – even with a prescription, making it nothing like Nevada or Colorado.
Download my free marijuana grow guide and start growing high quality strains
- Grow with my Quick Start Guide
- Discover secrets to Big Yields
- Avoid common grow mistakes
Utah Marijuana Laws
Utah voted to legalize medical marijuana on November 2018, but for everyone else, there are still strict possession laws. If you do not have a medical recommendation, cultivation is considered the same as possession.
Laws for possessing one ounce of marijuana are strict enough, and good luck growing something less than one ounce. Possession of greater than one ounce can result in a year in jail and a $2500 fine.
They also have a tax stamp that charges $3.50/gram of marijuana. If arrested with weed and no proof of marijuana tax payment, the fine doubles, plus there is an additional criminal charge. More marijuana laws at Norml.org
Looking for high quality seeds? Check out our seed bank to buy high quality seeds for higher yields
For the longest time, it was clear that Utah didn’t have a problem with marijuana; it had a problem with THC and smoking. Since 2014, the state has maintained an agricultural program devoted to the research of hemp. It also permits Medical CBD for patients with qualifying conditions. A state-licensed grower is responsible for providing this low THC CBD.
Now, after voters approved a medical marijuana program in 2018, Utah’s support for patients includes THC tinctures and edibles. While this is a move in the right direction, in true Utah fashion, it is still quite restrictive.
Growing marijuana in general is not allowed in Utah, but there is one exception. If you are an approved patient and live more than 100 miles from a dispensary, you could grow your own. However, this part of the 2018 proposition does not go into effect until 2021.
State laws do not make it very easy, but it does not mean there isn’t a way to safely grow weed in Utah. You simply need to know how to do it. The Marijuana Grow Bible is full of great tips on how to grow marijuana in hard to grow places, such as Utah.
Using techniques such as guerilla growing, and stealth indoor grows, you can grow weed- even in the toughest state in the West. It is about knowing what you are doing, having a plan and sticking to it. The Grow Bible has the instructions.
The amount of states with harsh marijuana laws is growing steadily smaller. In a region with a rapidly increasing pro-marijuana stance, it is unclear how long they will be able to remain anti-weed.
In the meanwhile, marijuana smokers in Utah are encouraged to practice discretion, grow their marijuana instead of attempting to buy it, and continue to support legislation to legalize it. Utah may not be a state that follows the trends, but eventually, the reality of marijuana will become clear even there.
Download the Free Harvesting Guide to learn more about when and how to harvest your Marijuana plants.
- Time your harvest for Perfect Taste
- Get THC levels for a Perfect High
- Don’t waste any Precious Bud
FAQ About Growing Marijuana In Utah
No, Its not legal to possess marijuana in Utah. Even a small amount of weed, whether it’s for recreational or medicinal purposes, could land you in prison.
No, selling marijuana in Utah in considered a felony. You will end up paying $5000 fine and spending 5 years in prison.
No one is allowed to legally cultivate marijuana in the State of Utah. There is no medical marijuana program as well.