Marijuana Laws in Texas

Please note: ILGM is NOT a legal adviser. Information contained in this website is intended as general introductory information only. The information contained on this website is not legal advice. It should not be construed as legal advice and should not be relied upon as such.

In Texas, it is illegal to possess even the tiniest amount of cannabis. Anyone caught using or in possession of marijuana can find themselves slapped with hefty fines and jail time. And, in this state, possessing hash oil and concentrates carries even steeper penalties than that of cannabis in plant form. Possessing these derivatives will get you a felony charge, and some time in a Texas state prison.

Many states across the country have become more relaxed about marijuana. Some have passed medical cannabis laws, recreational laws, and decriminalization laws. But, this simply isn’t the case with Texas lawmakers. Marijuana charges are still punished severely in this state.


Download my free marijuana grow guide and start growing high quality strains

Grow Bible

  • Grow with my Quick Start Guide
  • Discover secrets to Big Yields
  • Avoid common grow mistakes


    Possessing Marijuana in Texas

    It’s a crime to possess any amount of marijuana in Texas. The penalties for such offenses are steep and punishable as follows:

    • Under 2 ounces = Misdemeanor: Up to $2,000 fine and up to 180 days’ incarceration
    • Between 2 to 4 ounces = Misdemeanor: Up to $4,000 fine and up to 1-year incarceration
    • Between 4 ounces to 5 pounds = Felony: Up to $10,000 fine and mandatory minimum sentence of 180 days to up to 2 years’ incarceration
    • Between 5 to 50 pounds = Felony: Up to $10,000 fine and mandatory minimum sentence of 2 years to up to 10 years’ incarceration
    • Between 50 to 2,000 pounds = Felony: Up to $10,000 fine and mandatory minimum sentence of 2 years to up to 20 year’s incarceration
    • Over 2,000 pounds = Felony: Up to $50,000 fine and mandatory minimum sentence of 5 years to up to 99 years’ incarceration
    Possessing_Marijuana
    Possessing Marijuana – Image powered by Hightimes.com

    Concentrates & Hashish

    In Texas, marijuana concentrates and cannabis hash are not considered to be marijuana. This state penalizes crimes related to possession of these derivatives much harsher than cannabis possession charges. These crimes are all felonies, and punishable as follows:

    • Under 1 gram = Up to $10,000 fine and mandatory sentence of 180 days to up to 2 years in state prison
    • Between 1 to 4 grams = Up to $10,000 fine and mandatory sentence of 2 to 10 years in state prison
    • Between 4 to 400 grams = Up to $10,000 fine and mandatory sentence of 2 to 20 years in state prison
    • Over 400 grams = Up to $50,000 fine and mandatory sentence of 10 years to up to life in state prison

    Selling Marijuana in Texas

    No one may legally deliver or sell cannabis in the State of Texas. Such crimes are punishable as follows:

    • Under 7 grams as a gift = Misdemeanor: Up to $2,000 fine and up to 180 days’ incarceration
    • Under 7 grams with compensation = Misdemeanor: Up to $4,000 fine and up to 1-year incarceration
    • Between 7 grams to 5 pounds = Felony: Up to $10,000 fine and 180-day mandatory minimum sentence to up to 2 years’ incarceration
    • Between 5 to 50 pounds = Felony: Up to $10,000 fine and 2-year mandatory minimum sentence to up to 5 years’ incarceration
    • Between 50 to 2,000 pounds = Felony: Up to $10,000 fine and 5-year mandatory minimum sentence to up to 10 years’ incarceration
    • Over 2,000 pounds = Felony: Up to $100,000 fine and 10-year mandatory minimum sentence to up to life in prison
    • Selling to a minor = Felony: Up to $10,000 fine and 2-year mandatory minimum sentence to up to 20 year’s incarceration
    Selling_Marijuana
    Selling Marijuana – Image powered by Hempbeach.com

    Concentrates & Hashish

    If an adult sells hash or concentrates to a minor under the age of 18 enrolled in school (primary or secondary), that adult is guilty of a felony crime. It’s punishable by a fine up to $10,000 and a 2-year mandatory minimum sentence to up to 20 years in a Texas state prison.

    Paraphernalia

    It’s a crime in Texas to possess with intent to deliver or sell, or to sell drug paraphernalia. Such related crimes are punishable as follows:

    • Crimes listed above = Misdemeanor: Up to $4,000 fine and up to 1-year incarceration
    • Subsequent conviction = Felony: 90-day mandatory minimum sentence to up to 1-year incarceration
    • Selling to minor = Felony: Up to $10,000 fine and 180-day mandatory minimum sentence of up to 2 years in a Texas state prison

    Growing and Manufacturing Marijuana in Texas

    Anyone caught cultivating or growing marijuana or manufacturing cannabis products in the State of Texas will be charged accordingly. Related crimes are punished based on the weight of the cannabis plants or derivatives. See “Possessing Marijuana in Texas” section for penalty details.

    Growing_and_Manufacturing_Marijuana
    Growing and Manufacturing Marijuana – Image powered by Howtogrowmarijuana.com

    Concentrates & Hashish

    All persons found guilty of selling or manufacturing hash and cannabis concentrates in Texas will be charged with felony crimes. These felonies are punishable as follows:

    • Under 1 gram = Up to $10,000 fine and 180-day mandatory minimum sentence to up to 2 years’ state prison time
    • Between 1 to 4 grams = Up to $10,000 fine and 2-year mandatory minimum sentence to up to 20 years’ state prison time
    • Between 4 to 400 grams = Up to $10,000 fine and 5-year mandatory minimum sentence to up to 99 years’ state prison time
    • Over 400 grams = Up to $100,000 fine and 10-year mandatory minimum sentence to up to life in a Texas state prison

    Paraphernalia

    Texas lawmakers consider any device or equipment used to create concentrates or hash to be drug paraphernalia. Related charges are punishable as follows:

    • Possession = Up to $500 fine
    • Delivering, possessing or manufacturing with intent to deliver = Up to $4,000 fine a/or up to 1-year incarceration

    Using Marijuana in Texas

    UsingMarijuana
    Using Marijuana – Image powered by Matadornetwork.com

    Cannabis consumers must use some type of paraphernalia to use cannabis. In the State of Texas, drug paraphernalia is illegal. This state makes no provisions for either recreational use of medicinal use of marijuana.

    Download the Free Harvesting Guide to learn more about when and how to harvest your Marijuana plants.

    Harvest Guide

    • Time your harvest for Perfect Taste
    • Get THC levels for a Perfect High
    • Don’t waste any Precious Bud


      Breaking the Marijuana Laws in Texas

      Any drug conviction in Texas will lead to automatic driver’s license suspension.

      It’s a misdemeanor to falsify a drug test in the State of Texas. There is a penalty of up to $2,000 and up to 180 days’ incarceration.

      BreakingMarijuanaLaws
      Breaking Marijuana Laws – Image powered by Hempyreum.org

      Mandatory Minimum Sentence

      If a conviction carries a mandatory minimum sentence, this is the least amount of the time judge presiding over the case can sentence the offender. The judge does, however, have the option of sentencing the offender to the maximum amount of time allowed. Parole will not be granted until the minimum mandatory time is complete.

      Texas Tax Stamp Law

      In Texas, anyone in possession of cannabis is required to buy a tax stamp, and affix it to the contraband. If not, you will be penalized. This state’s tax stamp rate is $3.50 per gram if the amount is over 4 ounces. Failure to pay is a 3rd-degree felony, and punishable by a 200% hike up in the tax rate.

      Jenny Bloom

      Editor-in-Chief at I Love Growing Marijuana

      Jenny is ILGM's unstoppable force when it comes to quality control for all the content on the blog. In the meantime, she manages to write many of the articles herself as well. She's not a lawyer but is well-read on all the latest marijuana legislations, which she always keeps up to date!... [Read full bio]

      GROW BIBLE

      marijuana grow bible
      • Grow With My Quick Start Guide
      • Discover Secrets To Big Yields
      • Avoid Common Grow Mistakes


        0 comments on “Marijuana Laws in Texas”