In this article we will discuss:
11/8 UPDATE: Congratulations Massachusetts! This is great news. You can now legally grow up to six marijuana plants at home. That includes all of the harvest from those plants.
Finally, it’s legal for everyone to grow marijuana in Massachusetts! If you want to get started, make sure you’re clear on the rules.
In this overview, I’ll explain what you need to know to grow marijuana at home in Massachusetts legally. Let’s start with a short list, followed by more details.
- The minimum age to grow is 21
- You can have no more than 12 marijuana plants
- You can have no more than 6 flowering marijuana plants
- You can keep the entire harvest of your 6 plants, and give away up to an ounce
- You must grow within your primary residence
- You can grow for someone else, but they must be at least 21
If you want to start growing in Massachusetts, make sure to download my free marijuana grow bible
Massachusetts Growing Laws In-Depth
If you’re confused by any of those rules, here’s a little more detail:
- You must be 21 to grow your own marijuana. At 21 you’re officially an adult. At that age, you can drink, go to a casino and now, grow marijuana. If you’re still underage, wait a couple years to stay legal.
- You are limited to 12 plants. Marijuana plants can be flowering or nonflowering. Plants that aren’t producing buds yet are considered immature, they’re in the vegetative stage.
They need 18 hours of light and 6 hours of complete darkness per day to remain immature. Once the days get shorter, your plants will begin producing flowers.
When growing indoors, you can control that light cycle. By shortening it from 18 hours of light to 12 hours of light, you can trigger the plants to start flowering.
- You are limited to 6 flowering plants. Like I talked about in the previous section, the flowering stage is triggered by light. It lasts about two months. Make sure you harvest your plants on the right cycle so that you never have more than six flowering at a time.
- Keep your entire harvest, and give away up to an ounce. You’re expected to keep your entire harvest, not to sell it. If you would like, you’re welcome to give some away to any adult, but you can’t give away more than an ounce.
- Grow within your primary residence. Make sure you only grow within your own house. Do not plan to grow marijuana in your office or at your mom’s place. If you own a second home, whether it’s an apartment or a cabin in the woods, you cannot use that space to grow. You can grow in your garden or in a greenhouse but ensure it is properly secured and your plants are not visible with the aid of binoculars or from the air.
- You can grow for someone else, but they must be at least 21. If you have a friend who’d like to grow marijuana but doesn’t have the space or time to do so in their own residence, you can help them out and grow at your home. However, make sure your friend is 21 or older.
As you can see, most adults in Massachusetts should be able to grow their own marijuana. And for those who cannot, there is probably someone that can help you out.
Click here if you want to buy marijuana seeds in Massachusetts
Do Not Break These Massachusetts Growing Rules
We’ve discussed the rules, now here are a few things that are not allowed:
- Growing someplace other than your home
- Selling your harvest
- Storing your harvest any place other than home
There is also a section on parenting while growing. Although the state clearly says you can parent and grow, it also says it is for those aged 21 and up. If you have children in your home, it may be a good idea to invest in a lock or have a designated grower outside of your home.
If you have more questions or comments about growing in Massachusetts, leave them below in the comment section. I will update this article as needed to add the most frequently asked questions as well as any other interesting information.
If you want to start growing in Maine, make sure to download my free marijuana grow bible
Find the complete Massachusetts initiative here.
…end of update… Below is the original article with old laws
In 2013, Massachusetts approved a medical marijuana program that lets patients grow up to a sixty-day supply of marijuana in their homes. The problem is, however, the medical program is not operational yet. So it is unclear what happens if patients are caught growing weed in Massachusetts.
In 2015, the Massachusetts Department of Public Health began accepting applications on a rolling basis from non-profit organizations that wish to apply for a state license to operate a Registered Marijuana Dispensary (RMD) in Massachusetts. RMDs are allowed one location, and may have a second location for cultivation or preparing marijuana-infused products.
These applications are not a merit-based competition, but are verified for compliance and suitability, and will be reviewed in the order received. However, applications in open counties will be processed first. There is no stated limit to the number of RMDs that may be approved.
Authorization for the recreational use of marijuana may appear on the ballot in November 2016. Signatures need to be collected for the Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Initiative by May 3, 2016.
The medical program will cover the following conditions:
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Crohn’s disease
- HIV or AIDS
- Hepatitis C
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Parkinson’s disease
- Other conditions as determined in writing by a qualifying patient’s physician
It also will let certain patients designate caregivers, if they can prove they are unable to purchase from a dispensary.
Massachusetts has decriminalized weed and has passed laws for medical marijuana, but it still has a marijuana tax stamp. The tax stamp is a program that requires those possessing marijuana to pay tax on their weed.
The tax is $3.50/gram, but it is only required if the weed only has at least 40 grams. When the tax is paid, the user receives a stamp. If caught with marijuana, the stamps must be produced, or there will be additional fines or jail time.
For those charges that do give jail time, Massachusetts has a conditional release program. Conditional release means that people caught for the first time will most likely not receive jail time.
Mandatory sentences are the exception to conditional releases. Massachusetts has mandatory sentences for large amounts of marijuana (100 lbs and more).
You won’t get arrested for having less than an ounce of marijuana, and you may not get arrested for growing one plant. Even with this, it is a good idea to not get caught growing marijuana in Massachusetts.
My Marijuana Grow Bible has the best information on how to grow without getting caught. It is a free download, and when combined with high-quality seeds, it can result in the best personal weed stash you’d ever grown. So, whether you are a medical patient or a lover of high- quality weed, grow with confidence by downloading my Marijuana Grow Bible first.
Growing in Massachusetts
Massachusetts has decriminalized marijuana possession, but it has not decriminalized growing. In Massachusetts, growing is combined with distribution. This means growers are seen as potential sellers.
The laws are separated between those that grow less than 50 lbs and those that grow more than 50 lbs. Small home growers could pay a fine as little as $500 or as high as $5000. There is even a chance of up to years in jail. More marijuana laws on norml.org
Because of the laws about growing weed in Massachusetts, doing so for personal use needs to be discrete. While it is unlikely that someone with one or two plants will go to jail for growing, they will most likely have to pay a fine.
December 2016 – Massachusetts is legalized! Let’s Get Growing
October 2016 – Massachusetts Marijuana Initiative 2016 launches their first TV ad.
View other states
Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | Washington DC | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming