Please note: ILGM is NOT a legal adviser. Information contained in this website is intended as general introductory information only. The information contained on this website is not legal advice. It should not be construed as legal advice and should not be relied upon as such.
Virginia is for lovers – of cannabis. Starting July 1, 2021, it is no longer a felony to possess hash. Similarly, it’s no longer a felony to grow marijuana. It’s also okay to gift small amounts of marijuana. However, you can’t sell paraphernalia, so forget about any ideas to start a custom bong business.
Growing Marijuana In Virginia
Virginia’s marijuana history
Virginia has a long history of growing marijuana. In fact, the early American colony, Jamestown, made growing hemp required by law. As time passed, more Virginia cities and towns use the law to encourage the cultivation of cannabis.
When America first started, slave populations grew massive plantations of cannabis throughout Virginia. The crops were being turned into textiles for the American agricultural economy.
Download our free Grow Bible for more information about growing in Virginia or anywhere else in the world!
In the late 1800’s medicinal marijuana began to appear, and Virginia was a major grower. As America continued to demand cannabis products, they were well prepared to provide it. That is, until, it was suddenly not okay to have.
Virginia marijuana laws
Whereas historically, there were laws for growing marijuana, there are currently no laws against growing marijuana in Virginia. Personal cultivation is the same as personal possession, and adults may have up to four plants, as long as they are not visible.
Although allowed, growers must properly identify their plants by tagging them with an ID or driver’s license.
Interesting fact; marijuana is not legal in Jamaica! Learn how rastafarians get to appreciate ganja in our free ebook!
Prior to legalization, Governor Ralph Northam approved a medical CBD program for multiple conditions. Previously, CBD was only allowed for intractable epilepsy.
Qualifying patients could possess limited amounts of CBD oil (“cannabidiol oil”) or THC-A oil for medicinal reasons.
Growing marijuana in Virginia
History has proven Virginia is perfect for growing weed. Its land is so ideal that lawmakers made it illegal not to use it for cannabis. For someone looking to grow weed in this state, it would make sense to take advantage of this fact.
Virginia has excellent growing conditions for marijuana. As long as your plants are not visible by the public eye and labeled, those 21 years and older can grow up to four plants.
For those new to cannabis cultivation, The Marijuana Grow Bible can help. It covers growing stealth outdoor and indoor gardens that avoid detection while still developing into strong, potent plants. If you plan to grow weed in Virginia, it is exactly the type of information you need.
Cheap cannabis seeds are never part of our inventory. Instead, check out these great deals on the best quality feminized marijuana seeds.
You’ll also want to know about the paraphernalia laws in Virginia. Residents of this state may not sell marijuana paraphernalia. They also can’t possess paraphernalia with the intent to sell – including those used for growing marijuana.
The result could be a year in jail and a $2,500 fine. Virginia is fairly strict about paraphernalia. Even distributing printed materials that advertise selling drug paraphernalia could have the same result as actually selling it.
Virginia is a great example of changing marijuana laws. One day you are required to grow weed, then the state tries to pretend like it doesn’t exist, followed by, ‘fine, as long as no one sees.‘ It’s been an exciting ride, with weed winning in the end.
FAQ about growing marijuana in Virginia
Not anymore! As of July 1, 2021, those 21 and older may grow up to four plants for personal use.
Yes, It is a felony crime to traffic or sell cannabis in the State of Virginia.
As of July 1, 2021, Virginia legalized possession of up to 1 ounce of marijuana and decriminalized possession of up to a pound.
View other states
Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan| Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York |North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington| Washington DC | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming
Marijuana legislation can be complicated, but Jenny Bloom is always up for the task. Although not a lawyer, her experience as a reporter and PR specialist helps her understand legalese – especially when it relates to growing marijuana. A passionate supporter of legalization and home... [read more]