Congratulations Colorado, you win the prize for best marijuana policy in the United States.
Growing Marijuana In Colorado
(It’s a coveted award.) Since the entire world knows that it is legal for adults 21 years and older to grow and use small amounts of marijuana in Colorado, I am going to talk about what is not legal.
That way, all of our Colorado weed lovers can stay out of trouble.
Please note: ILGM is NOT a legal adviser. Information contained in this website is intended as general introductory information only. The information contained on this website is not legal advice. It should not be construed as legal advice and should not be relied upon as such.
Download my free marijuana grow guide and start growing high quality strains!
Growing marijuana in Colorado
Marijuana was legalized and decriminalized for personal and medical use in Colorado, not for becoming the next worldwide weed supplier.
So if you plan to grow as a business you’ll need to be an approved caregiver or a registered grower with the state.
Buy Seeds for Colorado
- We selected the best seeds to grow in the Colorado climate! If you are planning to grow outdoors then, check out our custom collection of Colorado weather-approved seeds.
Caregivers are adults 18 and older that are responsible for growing weed in Colorado for up to 5 patients.
Those patients should be registered and have one of the following conditions: cachexia, cancer, chronic pain, chronic nervous system disorders, epilepsy, glaucoma, HIV or AIDS, multiple sclerosis, or nausea. Caregivers can grow up to six plants per patient.
If you are not a caregiver, and are at least 21 years old, you can grow up to six plants, and you can transfer (share) up to one ounce at a time.
If you transfer more than an ounce but less than 8oz, it is not legal, but there are no clear guidelines on the charge. At best, it is considered possession and is a misdemeanor with jail time.
Growing marijuana under the age of 21
Adults aged 21 years old and older can legally grow weed in Colorado, but if you are not 21, you either need to be a caregiver or be a medical marijuana patient.
Once again, if you are caught growing or using marijuana while, under the age of 21, there is no clear guideline on what the charge will be. Colorado left that scenario out.
Where Colorado loses points
Here are some other weed-related laws that aren’t so awesome.
- It is a petty offense to possess marijuana paraphernalia. You could be charged $100 fine for having items specifically used for weed if not a medical marijuana patient. One way to prevent that is by growing weed in Colorado without using paraphernalia. I explain some ways to do this in my Marijuana Grow Bible.
- Smoking up to 2oz in public is a petty offense. If you are caught enjoying in public, you could pay a $100 fine but no jail time. There used to be an additional punishment of 15 days in jail, but luckily there is no longer any jail time until you’re caught with 2 or more ounces of weed.
There is also mandatory jail time for anyone that sells weed to someone under the age of 15. If found guilty of this, you will most likely sit in jail until they are 18 years old.
Colorado doesn’t necessarily lose points for this one, but it is a good thing to keep in mind.
As you can see, it’s pretty hard to get in trouble for marijuana in Colorado. So raise your vape, eat your brownies, and roll your blunt- it’s time to get started growing weed in Colorado.
December 2016 – New Laws for Colorado Home Growers
Thanks for your comment. February and March are the months to get started with your seeds. Its always good to get an early start, so you have some time to make up for any issues along the way.
Check out our article on starting indoors then moving outdoors: ilovegrowingmarijuana.com/growing/starting-plants-indoors-then-moving-outdoors/
I hope this helps!
Need to start my seeds indoors then plan on planting outdoors! When should I start my seeds, lighting ect??
It’s illegal to grow cannabis in public view, or not in an enclosed space (this is literally how the law is written).
We need to start a petition and change this.
Thanks so much.
Sounds like the sheriffs aren’t asking a lot. Fencing off an area helps keep your plants a little safer from wildlife or protection from looters. Almost easier just to comply with a trivial request then push the issue that may make it tougher for everyone
Are there any new laws for growers in the state of Colorado for 2018
Can we please start listing federal officials that are trying to
change laws on the federal levels?
Hi Michael, the Grow Bible is simply a digital gift, we don’t want to sell it at all 🙂 – I❤️GM
Why don’t you sell your bible on line.it be a good ldea if you wanted to refeance to somthin g at a later date than diging threw copied pages.
in Delta co. Colo. the sheriffs;s dpt believes all outdoor grows must be not only fenced but covered. I can;t find corresponding law.pueblo has major outdoor grows with no roofs. Any comments or advice for a medical mj grower in delta colo?
Hi Marjorie, please email [email protected]. They can send you instructions
my computer won’t let me buy seeds from you.how do I order from you? Can you send me a order form? I want to order Blue Dream.
[…] At the time of writing, 25 states, as well as the District of Columbia, allow medical marijuana to be used in some way or another. Laws vary from strictly regulated with few, very specific ailments allowed (such as in Minnesota), to a full allowance of marijuana in a recreational context, but with some restrictions on the amount and number of plants you can possess (such as in Colorado). […]