Up until 2018, Missouri wasn’t known for having very friendly marijuana laws. Now Missouri has decriminalized marijuana, (unless you are carrying around kilos) and approved a medical marijuana program.
Please note: ILGM is NOT a legal adviser. Information contained in this website is intended as general introductory information only. The information contained on this website is not legal advice. It should not be construed as legal advice and should not be relied upon as such.
This doesn’t mean enjoying marijuana is easy in Missouri – growing and consuming it is still limited to a doctor’s approval, but the new legislation is definitely a step in the right direction.
Missouri’s Marijuana Possession Laws
It used to be that Missouri marijuana growing was treated the same as possession. This meant that it was considered a misdemeanor to possess up to 35 grams. Now, however, the laws have changed to specifically recognize cultivate differently.
While that might sound like a good thing, it actually means that growing up to 35 grams of marijuana is a felony.
Download my free marijuana grow guide and start growing high quality strains
- Grow with my Quick Start Guide
- Discover secrets to Big Yields
- Avoid common grow mistakes
The laws regarding possession, meanwhile, have also changed a bit in recent years. If you are found possessing 10 grams or less of marijuana, it is a misdemeanor with no jail time and a $500 fine.
If you are found with the same amount for a second time, however, you could land in jail for a year, plus get a $2000 fine.
The penalty becomes a felony when a person is in possession of more than 35 grams of marijuana, which could end up with 7 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Oftentimes this much marijuana is considered “intent to distribute,” and that could lead to even more time in jail.
Distribution is clearly Missouri’s main concern, with a potential life sentence for people growing and/or distributing large amounts (100 kg or more), or distributing near a school, park, or public housing.
Missouri residents voted to approve Amendment 2 in the November 2018 midterms which will begin a medical program by summer 2019.
The new law will legalize the use of up to four ounces of marijuana for qualified patients. Additionally, they can have up to a 60-day supply in their residence.
Patients will be able to purchase marijuana from state-licensed dispensaries. In the meanwhile, Missouri allows the use of Medical CBD for those with intractable epilepsy.
The medical CBD program defines the use of twenty ounces of high CBD cannabis extracts with no more than .03 of one percent of THC as legal for patients.
Growing in Missouri
If you plan to grow weed in Missouri, it is best to do so as a patient. Medical patients will be allowed to grow up to six flowering plants. Although this new rule was passed in 2018, it will take some time to go into effect.
The state may not begin taking applications for patients until the summer of 2019. If you do not have a recommendation from a doctor, it is best to keep you grow very small. If you grow a lot of plants and you are caught, police may try and claim you are a drug dealer.
That would be the last thing you want – especially if you were just growing a little extra for saving up.
Regardless of whether you are a patient, Missouri Marijuana growing has to be discrete. You should grow plants so they will not be seen. There are some great tips on how to do this in my Marijuana Grow Bible.
Keep your grow to yourself, and you should be able to reasonably stay out of trouble.
Since you, hopefully, are not going to grow a lot of plants, you should focus on growing plants with a high yield. This means, get some seeds that will grow into potent plants.
If your weed is strong, you don’t have to be bothered with carrying a lot. Read this article about maximizing marijuana yields.
Download the Free Harvesting Guide to learn more about when and how to harvest your Marijuana plants.
- Time your harvest for Perfect Taste
- Get THC levels for a Perfect High
- Don’t waste any Precious Bud
FAQs About Growing Marijuana in Missouri
If you are found possessing 10 grams or less of marijuana, it is a misdemeanor with no jail time and a $500 fine.
Missouri’s new medical marijuana law will legalize the use of up to four ounces of weed for qualified patients. They can also have up to a 60-day supply at home. Patients will be able to buy marijuana from state-licensed dispensaries.
What’s your experience with marijuana in Missouri? Please leave your comments below.
It’s just a plant, after all ….