Texas is a very influential state for many reasons. It’s large. It borders Mexico, and traditionally it is quite conservative. This includes their drug policy. Frankly speaking, Texas is pretty hard on marijuana. Growing marijuana in Texas is a felony and possession of even the smallest amount is a misdemeanor, hence there is no medical marijuana program.
Please note: ILGM is NOT a legal adviser. Information contained in this website is intended as general introductory information only. The information contained on this website is not legal advice. It should not be construed as legal advice and should not be relied upon as such.
If you are considering growing weed in Texas, it’s important to keep the law in mind. It’s very easy to get into a lot of trouble in Texas, so try and be smart about it.
Texas Marijuana laws
There is a saying that everything is bigger in Texas, but when it comes to growing weed in Texas, this does not apply. Texas does not have marijuana cultivation laws- only possession laws. This means that if arrested for growing marijuana, the charge will be based only on the amount of marijuana grown. While small amounts is a misdemeanor, anything greater than 4 ounces is considered a felony. Check the difference at this link here.
Curious about the process of growing marijuana? Download Robert’s free marijuana grow guide
- Grow with my Quick Start Guide
- Discover secrets to Big Yields
- Avoid common grow mistakes
Many people make the mistake of growing more marijuana than they need, and end up getting in more trouble than necessary. Quality is sometimes more important than quantity, especially when limits apply.
Growing Marijuana in Texas
Marijuana cultivation is considered marijuana possession and Texas has strict laws on possession. If you want to stay out of jail, do not grow large amounts of marijuana. Discretion is a good thing, especially in Texas. For more on that topic, read Robert’s free Marijuana Grow Bible.
December 2016 – State Representative Donna Howard filed an amendment to the Texas Constitution that would legalize recreational marijuana. The is Texas’s second attempt at legalization. A bill to treat cannabis ‘similar to tomatoes’ passed the Texas House Criminal Jurisprudence Committee but failed to travel further.
Howard’s bill joins a medical marijuana bill proposed by State Senator Jose Menendez.
Faq about growing marijuana in Texas
Yes, It’s a crime to possess any amount of marijuana in Texas. Here are some penalties: Under 2 ounces = Up to $2,000 fine, Between 2 to 4 ounces = Up to $4,000 fine, Between 4 ounces to 5 pounds = Up to $10,000 fine, Between 5 to 50 pounds = Up to $10,000 fine and more
Yes, it is absolutely a felony to sell marijuana in Texas. Here are some penalties: Under 7 grams as a gift = Misdemeanor: Up to $2,000 fine, Under 7 grams with compensation = Misdemeanor: Up to $4,000 fine, Between 7 grams to 5 pounds = Felony: Up to $10,000 fine, Between 5 to 50 pounds = Felony: Up to $10,000 fine and more.
Anyone caught cultivating or growing marijuana or manufacturing cannabis products in the State of Texas will be charged with a felony. Related crimes are punished based on the weight of the cannabis plants or derivatives.
View other states
Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware| Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan| Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico| New York |North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania| Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington| Washington DC | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming