Marijuana Laws in Idaho

Please note: ILGM is NOT a legal adviser. Information contained in this website is intended as general introductory information only. The information contained on this website is not legal advice. It should not be construed as legal advice and should not be relied upon as such.

The Idaho Uniform Controlled Substances Act classifies cannabis as a Schedule I hallucinogenic drug. This act does not allow for the legal use of medical marijuana. Possession of marijuana in any form is punishable by law in the state of Idaho.

Download my free marijuana grow guide and start growing high quality strains

Grow Bible

  • Grow with my Quick Start Guide
  • Discover secrets to Big Yields
  • Avoid common grow mistakes


    Possessing Marijuana in Idaho

    In Idaho, possessing less than 3 ounces of cannabis for personal use could lead to a fine up to $1,000 and/or 1 year of incarceration. If the offender is found to possess between 3 ounces and 1 pound, the person faces a fine up to $10,000 and/or 5 years of incarceration.

    Possession with intent to distribute is also punishable under state law. These are considered felonies punishable as follows:

    Possessing_Marijuana
    Possessing Marijuana – Image powered by Thebannockalternative.files.wordpress.com

    • Less than 24 plants or less than 1 pound = Up to 5 years in prison and/or up to $15,000 fine

    • More than 25 plants or over 1 pound = Considered drug trafficking and punishable with up to 15 years in prison and up to $50,000 fine

    • 1 to 5 pounds OR 25 to 50 plants = Mandatory 1 year incarceration and mandatory fine of no less than $5,000

    • 5 to 25 pounds OR 50 to 100 plants = Mandatory 3 years’ incarceration and mandatory fine of no less than $10,000

    • More than 25 pounds OR more than 100 plants = Mandatory 5 years’ incarceration and mandatory fine of no less than $15,000

    Deferred and suspended sentences are not allowed in cases of cannabis trafficking. Minimum sentences must be completed in full before parole can be granted. For second offenses, the mandatory minimum prison term is doubled.

    Selling Marijuana in Idaho

    Idaho does not allow the legal use of medical marijuana or cannabis for personal use. Therefore, it’s a crime to sell it in this state. The punishments for selling cannabis in Idaho are as follows:

    Selling_Marijuana
    Selling Marijuana – Iamge powered by Media.oregonlive.com

    • Delivering less than 24 plants or 1 pound = Up to $15,000 fine and/or up to 5 years’ incarceration

    • Delivering or importing over 25 plants or 1 pound into Idaho is a marijuana trafficking offense = Up to $50,000 fine and up to 15 years’ incarceration

    • Delivering or importing 25 to 50 plants OR 1 to 5 pounds = Mandatory minimum fine of $5,000 and mandatory minimum sentence of 1 year of incarceration

    • Delivering or importing 50 to 100 plants OR 5 to 25 pounds = Mandatory minimum fine of $10,000 and mandatory minimum sentence of 3 years’ incarceration

    • Delivering or importing over 100 plants OR 25 pounds = Mandatory minimum fine of $15,000 and mandatory minimum sentence of 5 years’ incarceration

    • Marijuana trafficking in Idaho = Maximum fine of $50,000 and maximum prison sentence of 15 years (second offenses come with doubled prison terms)

    For trafficking offenses, suspended and deferred sentences are not allowed. Also, the minimum sentence must be served completely before the offender can be released on parole.

    Marijuana_Laws_in_Idaho
    Marijuana Laws in Idaho – Image powered by Watchdog.org

    Growing and Manufacturing Marijuana in Idaho

    Marijuana is a Schedule I substance in the state of Idaho. Therefore, it’s illegal to possess, as well as grow or manufacture cannabis in any form. Sentencing laws for cultivating marijuana in Idaho are as follows:

    • Growing less than 24 plants or 1 pound = Up to $15,000 fine and/or up to 5 years in prison

    • Growing more than 25 plants or 1 pound is marijuana trafficking = Up to $50,000 fine and up to 15 years in prison

    • Growing 25 to 50 plants OR 1 to 5 pounds = Mandatory minimum fine of $5,000 and mandatory minimum sentence of 1 year incarceration

    • Growing 50 to 100 plants OR 5 to 25 pounds = Mandatory minimum fine of $10,000 and mandatory minimum sentence of 3 years’ incarceration
    • Growing over 100 plants OR 25 pounds = Mandatory minimum fine of $15,000 and mandatory minimum sentence of 5 years’ incarceration

    • Marijuana trafficking in Idaho = Maximum fine of $50,000 and maximum prison sentence of 15 years (second offenses come with doubled prison terms)

    Growing_and_Manufacturing_Marijuana
    Growing and Manufacturing Marijuana – Image powered by Opb.org

    Those deemed as marijuana traffickers by the court are not subject to suspended and deferred sentences. Also, their minimum sentences must be served out fully before they can be released on parole.

    Any person found guilty of cultivating cannabis on premises in Idaho where anyone under the age of 18 is present is a serious felony offense. It’s punishable by a fine up to $5,000 and a prison sentence of up to 5 years.

    Using Marijuana in Idaho

    There are no medical marijuana laws in Idaho. And, the state does not allow the legal use of marijuana for personal use. Therefore, it is illegal to use cannabis in this state.

    Because of the strict laws of the Idaho Uniform Controlled Substances Act, possessing drug paraphernalia is also a crime. Although classified as a misdemeanor, it’s punishable by a fine up to $1,000 and up to 1 year of incarceration. Selling or manufacturing drug paraphernalia is considered a felony offense. It comes with a fine up to $30,000 and 9 years in prison.

    Using Marijuana

    Idaho classifies marijuana concentrates and hashish as Schedule I drugs. Within the section of the statute that defines marijuana, every type of plant and anything derived from it falls under this classification. The section which pertains to penalties specifically mentions cannabis, any preparation of it or any substance extracted from it that contains tetrahydrocannabinol (THC).

    In other words, the state does not consider cannabis concentrates or hashish to be separate from marijuana itself. Therefore, state penalties for both are treated as if the substance was in the pure cannabis form.

    Breaking the Marijuana Laws in Idaho

    Any person found using or being under the influence of cannabis in a public place or on private property open to the public in Idaho is guilty of a misdemeanor. This crime is punishable by a fine up to $1,000 and/or 6 months in jail.

    If a person is found guilty of being present at a location where the storage or cultivation of cannabis was taking place, they are subject to up to a $300 fine and up to 3 months in jail. A person who’s convicted of maintaining a structure for the purpose of storing or selling cannabis is subject to a fine of $25,000 and 1 year incarceration.

    Breaking_Marijuana_Laws
    Breaking Marijuana Laws – Image powered by Static.weedlex.com

    Anyone who violates the marijuana possession, sale and/or cultivation laws in Idaho are required to undergo an evaluation by a substance abuse specialist. If it’s a first offense, and it’s just a simple possession charge, this required evaluation may be waived if the court believes treatment is unnecessary.

    However, if it is required, the results of the evaluation will be used to help the judge determine the appropriate sentence. In some cases, the state orders mandatory drug treatment.

    For offenders who have never been convicted of felonies, the judgment can be withheld. This is also true for those with no possession, sales or cultivation convictions, as well as convictions for driving under the influence.

    To qualify, the offender must cooperate with the efforts of law enforcement, and the court must have reasons to believe probation can be completed successfully. If the offender is granted probation, no less than 100 hours of community service will also be required.

    Marijuana_Laws_in_Idaho
    Marijuana Laws in Idaho – Image powered by Drivinglaws.aaa.com

    Download the Free Harvesting Guide to learn more about when and how to harvest your Marijuana plants.

    Harvest Guide

    • Time your harvest for Perfect Taste
    • Get THC levels for a Perfect High
    • Don’t waste any Precious Bud


      Second-time and subsequent offenders are subject to fines and incarceration terms that are double what’s authorized by law.

      A person under the age of 18 convicted of possession of marijuana will lose driving privileges. The state will revoke the offender’s driver’s license for up to 1 year.

      Idaho’s tax stamp rate is currently $3.50 per gram or $775 per marijuana plant. Non-payment is considered tax evasion. This crime is punishable with a 200% increase in the tax rate.

      Jenny Bloom

      Editor-in-Chief at I Love Growing Marijuana

      Jenny is ILGM's unstoppable force when it comes to quality control for all the content on the blog. In the meantime, she manages to write many of the articles herself as well. She's not a lawyer but is well-read on all the latest marijuana legislations, which she always keeps up to date!... [Read full bio]

      GROW BIBLE

      marijuana grow bible
      • Grow With My Quick Start Guide
      • Discover Secrets To Big Yields
      • Avoid Common Grow Mistakes


        0 comments on “Marijuana Laws in Idaho”